North Wales TV

Sunrise Sunset

READY TO ROAR: The Lions team for the first Test against SA announced

READY TO ROAR: The Lions team for the first Test against SA announced

PA - Steve Haag

The British and Irish Lions team for the first Test against South Africa has been announced with the series getting underway on Saturday.

Welshman Alun Wyn Jones will captain the Lions and partner England's Maro Itoje in the second row. As for the front row, there are starts for Luke Cowan-Dickie at hooker and Ireland's Tadgh Furlong.

The back row include English stars Tom Curry and Courtney Lawes. However, there is no start for Owen Farrell as Wales' Dan Biggar will be at fly-half and the centres are Ireland's Rob Henshaw and Scotland's Duhan Van Der Merwe.

There are two other Scots in the starting 15 with Stuart Hogg at full-back and Ali Price, who is perhaps the biggest surprise of all, at scrum half.

South Africa named their side on Tuesday, with 21 of their 23 man squad being involved in the World Cup win in 2019.

British and Irish Lions team to play South Africa in the first Test at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday, July 24 (5pm BST KO):

S Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland); A Watson (Bath Rugby, England), E Daly (Saracens, England), R Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), D Van Der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland); D Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales), A Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland); W Jones (Scarlets, Wales), L Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England), T Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), M Itoje (Saracens, England), A W Jones (Ospreys, Wales, capt), C Lawes (Northampton Saints, England), T Curry (Sale Sharks, England), J Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland).

Replacements: K Owens (Scarlets, Wales), R Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland), K Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England), T Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland), H Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland), C Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland), O Farrell (Saracens, England), L Williams (Scarlets, Wales).

Watch Live

Watch the channel on TV




Virgin Media